Bandana Day 2009.

Image34

When I was 21 years old, I landed in the hospital with a plethora of things wrong with me. Without dishing out all of the details, the doctor told me while performing an appendectomy on me because my appendix was damaged because of something else that was going on with me, they found a tumor on the tip of my appendix the size of a peanut. The doctor also said in two years it probably would’ve been cancerous and the procedure for curing it would’ve been an appendectomy, which I already had, and chemo treatment. Now at age 21, I didn’t know what the hell any of that meant. Heck, I went into the hospital because I had stomach pains and ended up staying in there for almost a month. Fortunately for me, the appendix issue was the least of my worries. About almost two years ago, I found out my cousin had ovarian cancer. She had the most positive attitude and luckily for her it was caught in the very early stages and today she’s four months pregnant.

We’re considered the lucky ones here, and I thank God every day for allowing me to be as healthy as I possibly can. Still, there are a lot of people who aren’t as unfortunate as I am or my cousin. I’m not talking about Dana from the L Word here (though Dana :'(. Why Ilene?!), I’m talking about actually real people here. The courageous ones out there who are fighting this battle every day and persevering over it.

3595485765_88d130a7b5_o

Hair Fair 2009 has been going on for over two weeks now and the proceeds are going to Locks of Love. Locks of Love is an organization to help cancer patients with wigs to wear while they’re going through chemotherapy. Today, hopefully, thousands of people will be replacing their hair in SL to show their love and support. If you’re vain and can’t commit for the whole day, at least try an hour. If you can’t bear to be without your hair for a day in a virtual world, think about the people who have lost their hair IRL due to this disease, and I’m not talking about Izzie Stevens either. It’s not too late to buy a bandana at the hair fair either. They’re only 50L! Buy some for your friends and pass them out! Happy Bandana Day!

July 3, 2009. Causes, Uncategorized.

One Comment

  1. ŞAPKA İMALATI replied:

    “SADECE ŞAPKA” sloganıyla, promosyon şapka imalatı yapan firmamız, uzman kadrosu ve yılların verdiği birikim ve tecrübeyle siz değerli seçkin müşterilerimizin hizmetinde olmaktan kıvanç ve mutluluk duymaktadır…

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI